ARTICLES

LATEST | FEATURES | INTERVIEWS | NEWS | FRIGHTFEST | REVIEWS


Pyewacket - Frightfest Review
By James W, Monday 5th March 2018

You know the feeling you get when you see a film that you know nothing about, not even the title gives anything away and you view with an open mind and then it blows your proverbial socks off? Well this is exactly what happened to me with Pyewacket.

Confused and infuriated for being forced to move away from friends after the death of her father, Leah (Nicole Munoz) performs a blood incantation calling on an evil entity to punish her grieving mother (Laurie Holden). Immediately regretful, she realises she can't reverse the ritual curse and an unholy presence now stalks them both in their rural home.

 

Where do I start with such a movie? Well, let's begin with the script from director Adam MacDonald which is fast-paced and pithy with a slow-burning tension that keeps you on edge. The idea of lost teenage souls pining for more has been done hundreds of times before but never with this ferocity or intelligence. MacDonald allows time for us to care about each character, to look at life from their bleak and sad situations then pulls the rug directly from under us.

The cast are sublime and add sincere bleeding-hearts to this piece which makes it so emotional during the final 30 minutes or so. Munoz and Holden are perfect as daughter and mother who are not living, just existing. The pain they are living through is etched on their faces and each scene they share is an excursion into bleakness and played to absolute perfection.

The small supporting cast add much to the movie, giving Leah some reason for her sadness, for her constant emptiness that is more than just the loss of her father. For a time, her interest in the occult takes a backseat but when the film moves into the invocation sequence it turns a huge corner and the unsettling sequence in the forest leads to an almost suffocating experience.

Pyewacket is a rare movie, one that scares, one that unsettles and one that is truly chilling.


Related show tags: 4 STARS, ADAM MACDONALD, LAURIE HOLDEN, NICOLE MUņOZ, PYEWACKET
MORE FRIGHTFEST
Interview with Simeon Halligan, director of White Settlers
Posted on Saturday 18th August 2018
Image of Simeon HalliganHorror Channel's FrightFest Season includes some truly memorable movies from past events and one of the strongest is Simeon Halligan's, White Settlers which is showing on the 19th August.

We had a quick chat with Simeon about this superior shocker as well as his own festival, Grimmfest.

HC: How did the script for White Settlers come to your notice?

SH: It was a strange situation, I had read the script a year or so before we set about making the film, I think it had been sent us by Ian Fenton's agent but then we found out that Ian was thinking of making the film under his own production company so we thought it had gone away. Then, once we had r...

SHARE: READ MORE
10 FrightFest flicks for 2018
Posted on Thursday 16th August 2018
Puppet Master The Littlest Reich

Stewart Bridle, Channel Manager for Horror Channel, selects the FrightFest films to catch at this year's event.

It's that time again when the most torturous experience isn't being slowly sliced in half by a deranged chainsaw-wielding maniac but actually deciding what to watch from the massive line-up of over 70 films at this year's FrightFest London on the August Bank holiday weekend. Unless you've found some mad scientist to clone you several times you'll never catch everything so here are ten devious delights I recommend this year.

Summer of 84 Fri... 							
	
								<div class=
SHARE: READ MORE
Interview with Jason London, star of Nightworld
Posted on Wednesday 15th August 2018
Jason London Nightworld image 1

On August 27th Horror Channel has the UK premiere of the paranormal shocker, Nightworld. The film concerns a man (Jason London) who bites off more than he can chew when, when a malevolent force is uncovered in the bowels of the apartment he's guarding.

So, we decided to chat to Jason about the movie, what it's like to work with Robert Englund and his future cinemtic plans.

HC: You've been acting for a number of years; can you remember how you felt when you first walked onto a movie set?

JL: My first day on a movie set was magic. I was, honestly, terrified, and thrilled. The crew was fantastic, and as soon as they started unloading all of the big lights...

SHARE: READ MORE
Interview with Tim Van Dammen director of Mega Time Squad
Posted on Tuesday 14th August 2018
Tim Van Dammen director of Mega Time Squad

You played a Street Demon in director Jason Lei Howden's FrightFest favourite Deathgasm. Is the New Zealand film community that small?

I didn't play a street demon; I am a street demon. The film community in NZ is small enough for most active people to know most other active people - but the genre scene is small enough for us all to know each other by at least one degree of separation. Many of my friends worked on or acted in Deathgasm and they needed a night shoot of 'street demons' so I donned my tie-dye and offered to help out. It was a lot of fun and I think Jason and the team did an incredible job.

Have you me...

SHARE: READ MORE
Coming to UK screens this summer and UK homes from this autumn, FrightFest Presents!
Posted on Thursday 9th August 2018
FrightFest Presents Logo

Discover suspense, terror and everything in between as Signature Entertainment and FrightFest, the UK's leading horror fantasy film festival, team up to launch FrightFest Presents, an all-new venture geared to delivering the best in undiscovered genre features to the UK audience and world stage.

Phase one of this incredibly exciting label includes:

Th Dark FrightFest image

The Dark (October)
Directors: Justin P. Lange and Klemens Hufnagl
Cast: Nadia Alexander
...

SHARE: READ MORE
Interview with Paul Hyett, director of Heretiks
Posted on Tuesday 7th August 2018
Paul Hyett director of Heretiks

Paul Hyett is a firm, FrightFest favourite. His work is always a much anticipated event at the film festival and this year is no exception with the world premiere of his latest work, Heretiks. Here he chats about this and future productions.

What first attracted you to actor Gregory Blair's script?

When Templeheart gave me the script of Heretiks (although it was a different title at the time), the one thing that really grabbed my interest was the opportunity to do a creepy period horror, set in 17th Century England. I'd already shot a war-set film, a contemporary werewolf film and here was an opportunity to do a film set in the 17th ce...

SHARE: READ MORE
FrightFest announces 2018 Short Film Programme
Posted on Monday 6th August 2018
CORVIDAE- Maisie Williams

FrightFest 2018 showcases the best in short film from the UK and around the world, with ten countries representing five continents. From otherworldly ghosts to terrifying monsters, from the creepy to the baffling, from this dimension to those still unknown, this year's selection unleashes the latest from upcoming and established filmmakers.

Some of the best homegrown talent stretches their acting muscles, including Maisie Williams in Tom de Ville's soaring Corvidae, Gemma Whelan in Paul Taylor's hair-bristling The Blue Door, Alice Lowe in demonic thriller Salt, plus Adam Buxton and Asa Butterfield in surreal dark comedy Right Place, Wrong Tim.

Girl Power take...

SHARE: READ MORE
Interview with Dominic Brunt, director of Attack of the Adult Babies
Posted on Monday 6th August 2018
Picture of Dominic Brunt, Director of Attack of the Adult Babies

With FrightFest 2018 only a few weeks away we decided to chat to actor/writer/director Dominic Brunt about what its like to be waiting to have your movie screened at FrightFest and the plans he has for future movie projects.

HC: It's been a while since we last chatted, apart from Attack of the Adult Babies, what have you been up to?

DM: It's been a very busy and fulfilling year at Emmerdale with a very involving story going through the whole year. Also, I was driver about-er on Sybil, Jo's fantastic new short film (which is showing at FrightFest 2018). I had a small role in Funny Cow with Tony Pitts and Maxine Peak which ...

SHARE: READ MORE
Horror Channel unleashes monstrous FrightFest Season
Posted on Monday 6th August 2018

To celebrate FrightFest 2018, taking place in London during the August Bank Holiday, Horror Channel is dedicating thirteen nights to past festival hits.

Amongst the twenty-six fear-filled favourites, the channel will air four UK TV premieres: Simeon Halligan's 'terror-torial' home invasion shocker White Settlers; Jeff Maher's crowd-pleasingly ghoulish orgy of sex and gore Bed Of The Dead; Chad Archibald's breath-choking supernatural thriller The Drownsman; and the hauntingly sinister Nightworld, directed by Patricio Valladares and starring horror icon Robert Englund.

Plus, we're broadcasting three network premieres; Alberto Marini's sly and witty scaremonger Summer Camp; Bernard Rose's Frankenstein, a s...

SHARE: READ MORE
FrightFest 2018 announces guest line-up, additional films and long list for Screen Genre Rising Star Award
Posted on Thursday 19th July 2018
Pimped image for FrightFest 2018

Two extra films have been added to the record-breaking 2018 line-up: Pimped is director David Barker's modern transgressive erotic thriller, an Hitchcocktail of elevated suspense and shock in the revered style of Brian De Palma, and If you've never seen John Carpenter's Halloween on the big screen, now's your best chance. The inclusion of this 4K restoration needs no explanation in anticipation of a new Michael Myers slasher being released in October. Check screening details on the FrightFest website.

Ahead of single tickets going on sale from Saturday 21st July, 9am, we're thrilled to announce our current slate of guests, which includes Poldark star Aidan Turner, who ...

SHARE: READ MORE
FrightFest and FAB Press launch the FrightFest Guide to Ghost Movies
Posted on Thursday 12th July 2018
FrightFest Guide to Ghost Movies-Cover

FrightFest and FAB Press once again join forces to launch The Frightfest Guide To Ghost Movies, which goes on sale during FrightFest 2018, August 23 - August 27.

Following the success of The FrightFest Guide to Exploitation Movies, and The FrightFest Guide to Monster Movies, this is the third in an on-going series of wide appeal books for both the curious spectator and the cult connoisseur.

This year's FrightFest Guide is written by horror genre writer and award-winning filmmaker Axelle Carolyn, who has helmed an atmospheric bone-chiller herself - Soulmate, Axelle is well-versed in all things weird, wicked and witchy and he...

SHARE: READ MORE
FrightFest renews New Blood talent search
Posted on Wednesday 4th July 2018
New Blood logo for FrightFest 2018

After the success of last year's inaugural New Blood search for new writers in the horror genre, the hunt is on for another batch of scribes to cook up a potent cauldron of original ideas and devilish tales. And the search starts today!

New Blood 2 finds FrightFest once again teamed with Giles Edwards of Queensbury Pictures, which aims to find new writers and nurture their project from script to screen.

One of last year's entries, thriller Broadcast Signal Intrusion, is now in pre-production, and is one of Queensbury Pictures' first titles out of the traps. Written by Phil Drinkwater and Tim Woodall, it will be directed by Jacob Gentry (The Signal, Syncronicit...

SHARE: READ MORE
Frightfest Archive: 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007
PICK OF THE WEEK
Starry Eyes
STARRY EYES
Monday 27th August
10.55 PM
Nightworld
NIGHTWORLD
Monday 27th August
9.00 PM
Curse Of Chucky
CURSE OF CHUCKY
Wednesday 22nd August
9.00 PM